## 2024 WOOD LIBRARY-MUSEUM of ANESTHESIOLOGY LAUREATE of the HISTORY of ANESTHESIA

William McNiece, M.D.

The Wood Library-Museum of Anesthesiology (WLM) invites nominations of individuals for the Laureate of the History of Anesthesia to be presented in October 2024.

The award was conceived by Dr. Nicholas M. Greene, created by the Trustees of the WLM in 1993, and first awarded to Dr. Gwenifer Wilson of Sydney, Australia in 1996. This quadrennial award honors outstanding scholars who have made original contributions that enrich and advance the understanding of anesthesia history. The internationally constituted Laureate Committee will consider nominations of living historians and physician historians, not limited to anesthesiologists, regardless of gender, nationality, ethnicity, place of residence or age. Selection is based on the nominee's outstanding work as reflected by publication of books, monographs and peer-reviewed history, and a record of mentoring and encouraging others in the field. To learn more about the Laureate program and previous awardees, visit www.WoodLibraryMuseum.org/laureate.

The 2024 Laureate will be presented at the conclusion of the Lewis H. Wright Memorial Lecture, held at the annual meeting of the American Society of Anesthesiologists (ASA) in October 2024. The award is accompanied by an honorarium, defined travel expenses and a suitably inscribed medallion and certificate. If more than one Laureate is named, as happened in 2000, the honorarium will be shared. The Laureate will be invited to deliver a Lewis H. Wright Memorial Lecture. There are no other prescribed duties of the honoree, although the Trustees of the WLM hope the Laureate will remain active and productive, advancing the study of the history of anesthesia.

All nominations and the following supporting documents in English or translated to English, must be received by the WLM no later than **March 1, 2024**:

- 1. A nominating letter giving a detailed assessment of the value and merit of the candidate's achievements in the field of anesthesia history and containing a sample of the nominee's historical writing limited to not more than 50 pages. This letter of nomination will be a significant factor in the selection of the Laureate;
- 2. The nominee's curriculum vitae and complete bibliography;
- 3. A signed statement by the nominee that he/she agrees to the submission of his/her name as a candidate for the award. Nominations lacking this signed statement cannot be considered.

Other supporting letters and materials demonstrating the nominee's achievements and contributions may be helpful but are not required. Previously unsuccessful nominations may be resubmitted by updating the nominating letter, curriculum vitae, bibliography and candidate's statement. Electronic submission of all nomination materials is preferred. Please send them to: Matthew Toland, Director of the Wood Library-Museum, at M.Toland@asahq.org.

Additional information regarding the Laureate Program may be obtained by contacting Matthew Toland at **M.Toland@asahq.org**. Please include "Laureate" in the subject line.

All nominations must be received at the Wood Library-Museum no later than March 1, 2024.

## WOOD LIBRARY-MUSEUM of ANESTHESIOLOGY

1061 American Lane • Schaumburg, IL • 60173-4973

(847) 825-5586 • www.WoodLibraryMuseum.org