American Society of Anesthesiologists (ASA) Presidents

Barry M. Glazer, M.D.



Professional Appointments:
Staff Anesthesiologist and former Chair (1986, 1989-90, 1995-96), Department of
Anesthesiology, St. Francis Hospital Center, Beech Grove, Indiana.

ASA Involvements:
President Elect (2001); First Vice President (2000); Speaker of the House of Delegates (1994-
99); Vice Speaker of the House of Delegates (1991-94); Alternate Director (1987-91); Delegate
(1980-91); Chair, Section on Executive Affairs (2001) and Committee on Communications
(1989-91); Member, Committee on Bylaws.

President (1994-96), President Elect (1992-94), Secretary-Treasurer (1990-92), Indiana Society
of Anesthesiologists; President (1991-93), Secretary-Treasurer (1980-82), Indianapolis Society
of Anesthesiologists; Member, Board of Directors (1996-present), American Institute of
Parliamentarians; Member, Board of Directors (1993-present), Indianapolis Medical Society;
Member, American Medical Association, Society of Cardiovascular Anesthesiologists, American
Society of Critical Care Anesthesiologists, American Society of Regional Anesthesia and Pain
Medicine, Indiana State Medical Association, International Anesthesia Research Society, Society
for Ambulatory Anesthesia, and National Association of Parliamentarians.

Education & Honors:
M.D., Indiana University School of Medicine, Indianapolis, Indiana; Residency, Indiana
University Hospitals; Diplomate, American Board of Anesthesiology; Fellow, American College
of Anesthesiologists.

ASA Newsletter. 2002;66(2).
Back to ASA Presidents
Barry M. Glazer, M.D.


WLM Living History Interview

Back to ASA Presidents
Website Development by EdensWorks, Inc.