American Society of Anesthesiologists (ASA) Presidents

Mark A. Warner, M.D.



Professional Appointments:
Dean, Mayo School of Graduate Medical Education, College of Medicine, Mayo Clinic,
Rochester, Minnesota; Professor of Anesthesiology, College of Medicine, Mayo; Consultant,
Department of Anesthesiology, Mayo Clinic.

ASA Involvements:
President Elect (2010); First Vice President (2009); Delegate, Minnesota (1989-97); Director
(1998-2003) and Alternate Director (1992-98), District 15; Chair (1998-2002), Vice Chair
(1997-98), and Secretary (1994-97), Midwest Caucus; Scientific Council (1997-present); Chair,
Section on Annual Meeting (2000), Section on Clinical Care (2001-04) and Section on Education
and Research (2004-08); Chair, Task Force on Distinguished Service Award (2005), Task Force
on Pain Medicine (2005); Chair, Perioperative Vision Loss Task Force (2006), Perioperative
Positioning Task Force (2003) and Preoperative Fasting Guidelines Task Force (1999).

President (1995-96), President Elect (1994-95), Vice President (1993-94), Secretary/Treasurer
(1990-91), Executive Committee (1989-present), Minnesota Society of Anesthesiologists; Editor,
Anesthesiology (2007-present); Executive Committee Member, Foundation for Anesthesia
Education and Research (2006-present) and Anesthesia Patient Safety Foundation (2008-

Education & Honors:
M.D., Medical College of Ohio, Toledo; Anesthesiology residency, Mayo Graduate School of
Medicine; A.B., Chemistry, Miami University, Oxford, Ohio. Outstanding Career Award, ASA
Resident Component Society (2005); Physician Educator Award, Anesthesiology-Mayo School
of Health Related Sciences (1983, 1994); Excellence in Teaching Award, Mayo Medical School
(1988); Resident Education Recognition Award-Mayo Foundation, Department of
Anesthesiology (1992).

ASA Newsletter. 2011;75(2).
Back to ASA Presidents
Mark A. Warner, M.D.


WLM Living History Interview

Back to ASA Presidents
Website Development by EdensWorks, Inc.